Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | bwSync&Share
Support

If you have any questions, please contact your institution's local support team.

Conversion of bwSync&Share end of March

The bwSync&Share service will be converted to a new software basis from 27 March 2020.  After the changeover, probably from March 31, the service will then be operated and provided on the basis of the "Nextcloud" software of the company "Nextcloud GmbH". (So far, the "PowerFolder" software of the company "dal33t GmbH" has been used).

On this page we provide you with information regarding the conversion of the service, which has to be considered. We will successively extend this information here as well.

General Information

As of 27.03 the service will be available only in a read-only version, i.e. users can download their data, but NO changes can be made. Users can send invitations in read-only mode, but they will not be migrated. 

From 31.03. the service will continue to be available at bwSyncAndShare.kit.edu, but then on the new software base Nextcloud.

Below you will find more detailed information about the migration of the service, as well as under "Nextcloud FAQ" (link) details about Nextcloud software.

Please note in particular the following FAQ item "What should I do before migration?".

 

FAQ

At which address can the new service be reached?
The service can be accessed at the previous web address https://bwsyncandshare.kit.edu . There you can select your home institution as usual and log in.
Do I have to register again?
Students and employees of the participating institutions do not have to register again for the new service at https://bwidm.scc.kit.edu

Users of external institutions must reset their password.
What happens to my data and invitations?
We migrate your data to the new environment. This also applies to invitations and access rights, both from invitations you have received from another user and from invitations you have sent to other users.
What data is not migrated and what do I need to know about encrypted folders?

Older versions of your files (file history) and data you deleted will not be migrated. Shares that you created in the readonly phase from 27.3.20 - 31.3.20 will not be migrated either. This data is no longer available in Nextcloud.

Links that you have sent to other participants to download folders and files are still functional. For the download links that were secured with a password, a new password must be set. Then they can be used with the new password as before the migration. 
If you have created encrypted folders, this data will also be migrated, but the contents of encrypted folders will no longer be readable after migration. You can recognize such encrypted folders in Nextcloud by the extension ".crypto" in the folder name. For this reason, encrypted folders should be downloaded or backed up before the migration and uploaded again after the migration, as described in the following FAQ item "What should I do before the migration? The affected owners of folders with encrypted files and folders will be informed separately by us before the migration.
After the migration, all files and folders will automatically be saved encrypted on the server. (see Nextcloud FAQ)

What should I do before the migration?
 Since the transfer of data and assignment of additional information, such as invitations and access rights, to the new software base can only be carried out in a highly automated manner, you should carry out the following steps BEFORE the migration on March 27, in order to have a local backup copy of your previously stored data for safety's sake:

If you have only worked with the service via the web interface so far, download your folders (all folders of the top level, each by clicking on the "Arrow down" button) as a ZIP archive from there. Downloading all folders at once is unfortunately not possible via the web interface. Afterwards you can extract the downloaded ZIP files into a separate backup directory (e.g. "Backup-bwSyncAndShare"). Make sure to unpack the individual ZIP archives into separate folders, like in your bwSync&Share account, to preserve the folder structure.

If you have already used the Powerfolder desktop client, please synchronize again before migration to have the latest sync version (e.g. the sync client might not have been restarted after a device restart). Your data will then be available on your device in the directory C:Users\username\bwsyncandshare (Windows) or in the home directory under "bwsyncandshare" (Linux and MacOS). Then uninstall the Powerfolder client. For this you need local admin rights on your end device.
With these steps you have a local backup of your data on your end device and thus the possibility to subsequently synchronize the automatically migrated data and to upload files from the local backup back to the service again in case of irregularities.
If you have encrypted files and folders, you should back them up as described before migration so that you can upload them again after migration. In addition to your encrypted folders, you have received a separate e-mail in which encrypted folders of your account are listed in the form "folder name" + ".crypto" as the extension. You do not see the extension .crypto in the bwSyncAndShare interface. However, the folders listed in the e-mail are not readable after the migration and therefore you have to migrate them manually.

What do I have to do after the migration?

After the migration, the new service is immediately available via the web browser.

If you want to synchronize data with your end devices or access data from your mobile devices, download the appropriate Nextcloud client from this address. Clients are available for Windows, Linux, MacOS, iOS and Android. You need admin rights to install the clients. At the first start you have to enter the server address of the service (https://bwsyncandshare.kit.edu). You can then activate synchronization for the desired folders.

After the synchronization, your data will be available in the directory C:\Users\<Username>\nextcloud (Windows) or in the home directory under "nextcloud" (Linux and MacOS).

You can still find the previous database including encrypted folders by default in the directory C:\Users\<Username>\bwsyncandshare (Windows) or in the home directory under "bwsyncandshare" (Linux and MacOS).
If necessary, uninstall the previous bwSync&Share client from all your devices.

Where can I find a user manual?
A comprehensive German user manual for operating Nextcloud - both for web and clients - can be found here. An English user manual is also available at this address.
Is online editing also offered in Nextcloud?
Yes, even in the new environment, ONLYOFFICE offers the usual options for cooperative online editing.
What happens if my institution no longer participates in the service from January 2020?

The existing participating institutions have the choice of continuing to use the service from 2020 or terminating it.

If your institution no longer extends its participation, access to the relevant user accounts will first be blocked from the beginning of January 2020 and the data will then be deleted. We will inform you of the exact date in good time.

You should back up your data in good time before you no longer have access:
If you have synchronized your data with the desktop client, you should first perform a final synchronization and then uninstall the client from all devices.
If you have worked exclusively via the web, you can download the folders with the files as zip archives.