Tips and tricks for using bwSync&Share
The bwSync&Share service is a service for synchronizing and exchanging data and for editing files together in an online editor.
Since synchronization can lead to accidental deletion of data on the server, the service is not suitable for the sole storage of data that is not stored on any other device.
- When several people are editing a document at the same time, they should all use the online editor.
If one person changes the document on your own computer at the same time, that version will not include the changes made by the online editor.
Thus, the persons have different versions of the document and the changes that are saved last or uploaded by synchronization overwrite the changes of the other persons.
If multiple people are editing a document locally at the same time, this problem can also occur, but users are notified of the problem via software conflict handling.
- Since the data is stored encrypted on the server, we recommend installing and using a bwSync&Share client so that the data is also stored in unencrypted form on your own end device.
Please note, that when you delete files, this data is also deleted on your own end device as a result of the synchronization.
Conversely, if synchronization is enabled, the data will also be deleted on the server and from all other users if you delete it locally from your synchronization folder on your end device.
- Create a backup of your data yourself outside the bwSync&Share folder so that no data is lost if files are accidentally deleted.
The bwSync&Share service does not include a backup of the data.
- If possible, share your data with the users' email addresses directly instead of sharing the data via a public link. This way you keep control over your data and you can be sure that only the people with whom you have shared the data can actually access it.
If you share data through a public link, we recommend setting a password and expiration date for that link.
- Restrict other users' access to your data as much as possible to prevent users from changing data against your will or accidentally deleting data.
- Transfer the data that is still required to other users in good time before leaving an institution and delete data that is no longer required.
You yourself will not be able to access the service immediately after leaving.
The users with whom you have shared data can access your data until your account and thus your data are permanently deleted.
(3 months after you leave, the deprovisioin process begins and after 12 months your data will be permanently deleted).